Science Department

Baltimore County’s science curriculum spirals through each grade level.  This means that together with their teachers, students in the science class will explore some aspect of physical, life and earth sciences every year in middle school.  Your child will examine the following topics:

Grade 6:  Chemistry, Electricity and Magnetism, Earth and Space, and Ecology. 

Grade 7: The Living Environment, Genetics, Waves and Rays, and Rocks and Fossils.   

Grade 8:  Hydrosphere and Atmosphere, Chemistry, Newton’s Laws, and Our Changing Chesapeake.

 

Grade 6 GT:  Introduction to Science, Electricity and Magnetism, Hydrosphere and Atmosphere, and Genetics.

Grade 7 GT: The Living Environment, Newton’s Laws, Waves and Rays, and Astronomy

Grade 8 GT:  Chemistry and Environmental Science.

Science
Michelle Hohman       mhohman@bcps.org
Emma Kadin              ekadin@bcps.org
*Danyelle Maddox     dmaddox@bcps.org
Jennifer Shaw            jshaw2@bcps.org
Ksisha Stevenson     kstevenson4@bcps.org
Kathryn Wolf-Wilson   kwilson12@bcps.org

It is our goal to engage all students in learning about the world around them through science.  We look forward to working with our parents to help our students meet with success.