Admin

Special Education Department

If a child can’t learn the way we teach, maybe we should teach the way they learn.

-Ignacio ‘Nacho’ Estrada

 

"Special education is not a place where children go for services, but services children receive in accordance with their Individualized Education Programs (IEPs) in the least restrictive environment."

 

Mission
Our mission is to implement curricular and instructional initiatives that support the achievement of students with disabilities in compliance with state and federal mandates. It is the commitment of the Special Education department here at Golden Ring Middle school to ensure all students with disabilities have access to a full continuum of services while being educated with nondisabled peers to the maximum extent possible.
‚Äč

Goal
Our goal is to meet the unique needs of our students with a disability by providing additional services, support, programs, and/ or specialized placements or environments, to ensure all students' educational needs are provided for.

Special Education
Erica Cooperstein                       ecooperstein@bcps.org (IEP Chair)
Kathryn Thompson                     kthompson8@bcps.org (Dept. Chair)
Traci Chavis                              tchavis@bcps.org
Susan Echutakang                                 setchutakang@bcps.org
Mark Mc Lendon                         mmclendon2@bcps.org 
Sean Clark                                 sclark3@bcps.org
Stephanie Nitti                           snitti@bcps.org
Patricia Devon                                           pdevon@bcps.org
Heather Spilker                          hspilker@bcps.org
Laura Stec                                 lstec@bcps.org
 Mildred Jordan                                         mjordan3@bcps.org
Mark McLendon                                       mmclendon2@bcps.org