Admin

Special Education Department

If a child can’t learn the way we teach, maybe we should teach the way they learn.

-Ignacio ‘Nacho’ Estrada

 

"Special education is not a place where children go for services, but services children receive in accordance with their Individualized Education Programs (IEPs) in the least restrictive environment."

 

Mission
Our mission is to implement curricular and instructional initiatives that support the achievement of students with disabilities in compliance with state and federal mandates. It is the commitment of the Special Education department here at Golden Ring Middle school to ensure all students with disabilities have access to a full continuum of services while being educated with nondisabled peers to the maximum extent possible.
‚Äč

Goal
Our goal is to meet the unique needs of our students with a disability by providing additional services, support, programs, and/ or specialized placements or environments, to ensure all students' educational needs are provided for.

Special Education
Traci Chavis- Math                        tchavis@bcps.org
Viola Church                                vchurch@bcps.org
Dana Dakers                                ddakers@bcps.org
Denise Garner (Compliance)        dgarner@bcps.org
*Bridget Ferguson                       bferguson2@bcps.org
David Frank (Behavior Intervention) dfrank2@bcps.org
Stephanie Nitti                             snitti@bcps.org
Brian Savage                              bsavage2@bcps.org
Heather Spilker                           hspilker@bcps.org
Louis Sadler                              lsaddler@bcps.org