English/Reading Department

Golden Ring Middle School Language Arts Department is committed to creating independent and life-long readers, writers and thinkers.  We implement a cohesive and rigorous curriculum aligned with state and national standards and provide students with the literacy skills necessary to meet the challenges of the 21st century.  Our students apply appropriate reading strategies, analyze and evaluate various literary genres, and incorporate the writing process in student-centered environments designed to provide opportunities for students to lead learning activities, participate actively in discussions, design their own learning projects, explore topics that interests them, and contribute to the design of their own course of study and pacing.


Language Arts/Reading
Ekaterini Akalestos      eakalestos@bcps.org
*Leslie Cook               lcook@bcps.org
Sonja Hill Jackson      shill@bcps.org
Alyssa Lindsey           alindsey@bcps.org
Kristen Maxwell           kmaxwell5@bcps.org
Danielle Mayhew         dmayhew2@bcps.org
Zachary Rataj               zrataj@bcps.org
Kaz Wright                   kwright@bcps.org